Guilty Pleasures

Like every other human on the face of the Earth, there are a lot of things that I will admit enjoying only after Guantanamo-style torture. Waterboarding, pliers yanking fingernails from their nailbeds, railroad spike hammered through the penis.

Whatnot.

I’m not talking about secret lovings for vanilla-flavored ice cream (delicious). And I’m not talking about the obsession to murder filthy whores who are already empty inside, souls decayed, waiting for release from their fettered, hellish existences.

I’m talking about music that is not metal; you might know it as “mainstream” and/or “indie” and/or “alternative”. Regardless of the song’s tag, more times than not–if it’s not good metal, blues, harcore rap, or punk–it’s ripe for ridicule.

Then… then… then you hear some shit you just can’t get out of your head. Phenomenal songs that reside outside your comfort zone which are truly–in your spike-in-penis opinion–genuinely motherfucking awesome. You can’t help it!

I can’t help it!

“Clocks” by Coldplay
“Lazy Eye” by Silversun Pickups
“Misery Business” by Paramore
“I Write Sins Not Tragedies” by Panic! At The Disco
“Into the Ocean” by Blue October
“Face Down” by The Red Jumpsuit Apparatus
“Starlight” by Muse
“Fake It” by Seether
“Keep the Car Running” by Arcade Fire

Situational considerations:
“Let’s Stay Together” by Al Greene – Erin’s and my wedding dance
“Chasing Cars” by Snow Patrol – Molly (Erin’s sister) & Kevin’s first dance at their wedding
“The Reason” by Hoobastank – the soundtrack to the Tampa Bay Lightning Stanley Cup video

So… reviews are pending for the new Puddle of Mudd (I blame Doug), Enemy of the Sun, Bullet for my Valentine, as well as abject gushing over Left Lane Cruiser.

Keep an eye out.

p.s. I made up that part about the whores. I really don’t feel that way about them… I’ve never even met a “professional”, as far as I know. I’m sure they’re very sweet people.

p.p.s. Well, fuck… I may as well admit to voting for Ralph Nader in 2000…

Leave a Reply

