Recently Re-read Book

Cryptonomicon by Neal Stephenson

As I’d previously exhausted the available reading material in the house–that wasn’t some namby-pamby chick lit–I went back to an old favorite.

The link goes to the paperback, but I have the hardcover. Nevertheless, this 900+ page tome was my first exposure to Stephenson, urged upon me by the throng of comment-geeks at Slashdot back in the day. Since then, I’ve read 5 other Stephenson books: In the Beginning… was the Command Line, The Big U, The Diamond Age, Zodiac, and Snow Crash–this latest can convincingly be argued as the inspiration for Stephen King’s Cell, if not a blatant rip-off.

Either way, I must admit that Stephenson has become one of my favorite authors. It should come as no surprise, then, that Cryptonomicon gets:

5

Leave a Reply

