Went Out to The Inn

For my 10-year anniversary at work, the owners gave me a gift that Erin and I put to good use last night as part of her birthday celebration. We ducked into the limousine around 4pm with champagne in tow for the hour-and-a-half ride out to The Inn at Little Washington, generally considered to be one of the best restaurants in the United States.

I wore a tie. Full Windsor knot, too. We took a few pictures.

After being seated, the sommelier listened patiently to my boorishly uneducated description of our most-favored wine characteristics, and suggested a few wines. I was surprised to learn that he was neither a snob, nor an asshole; he just wanted to help. We ordered the Shafer 2004 Syrah blend named “Relentless” for a paltry $140. Holy shit, that is some good wine! It won our highest rating so far.

Four small amuse-bouche arrived and were consumed almost immediately, and then we ordered our selections from the menu. This was followed by hot goose broth in a miniature tea cup… another appetizer, I guess.

After reading an article in Washingtonian magazine about the scarcity of quality tuna, and the Inn’s chef’s insistence that he serve only the highest grade of this fish, Erin and I could not be denied. For the first course, we both ordered:

Fire and Ice: Seared Tuna Sashimi with Daikon Radish and Cucumber Sorbet

Not rabid sushi fans, we are both relatively skilled at discerning shitty-tasting tuna versus yummy tuna. Despite the protection afforded by the chef’s highest standards, however, we cannot say there was anything about this tuna that outright eclipsed the good fish we’ve enjoyed in the past.

We must be retarded or something.

For the second course, I ordered:

Nantucket Bay Scallops Saute with Mushrooms, Peppers and Homemade Italian Sausage

Erin got:

Roasted Eggplant Raviolis in a Tomato Basil Butter Sauce with Medallions of Maine Lobster

Mine was simply phenomenal. I cannot speak for Erin’s judgment (in this post, if ever!), but I tried a little bit of her lobster, and it didn’t want to make me vomit (my usual reaction to lobster)… therefore I can assume that was some good motherfuckin’ arthropod.

For the main course, Erin ordered:

Olive Oil Poached Atlantic Halibut on Parsley Risotto and Ginger Stewed Tomatoes with Caramelized Baby Bok-Choy and Baby Shrimp

I went full-on-evil, and asked for:

Veal Parmesan Reincarnated: Prosciutto Wrapped, Pan Roasted Loin of Veal with Spinach Raviolini and Parmesan Broth

I tried some of Erin’s fish… but it tasted too “fishy” for me, and even she intimated that she was a bit disappointed. At least we learned what bok-choy is. And, I know it’s terribly un-P.C. to even think of veal in a manner other than “oh my gosh, I wish I could help those poor tortured baby cows”, but let me tell you something: Those baby cows are fucking delicious, especially when wrapped in the salted, raw flesh of their barnyard compatriots.

For dessert, Erin ordered:

A Chocolate Ménage à Trois: Black Forest Mousse Bombe, Chocolate Crème Brûlée and Bitter Chocolate Soufflé

… which was pretty damned good, and I ordered a 16-year-old Glenrothes single-malt scotch… if for no other reason than to tell Gregg that I did so. My was it tasty.

Bellies full–but not distended–we settled the $600+ bill with the generous gift certificate from work, and climbed back into the limousine for the trip home.

Given the entire experience: It was the best dinner we’ve ever had. Now I just need to save up some pennies so we can go back and redeem the remainder of the gift cert.

Leave a Reply

