New iPod

blackipod.jpgThe night before I was to return from California, the old 10-gig iPod took a giant shit on me. It couldn’t get past the Apple logo screen, and was in an infinite loop of reboots. I ran every diagnostic test available to no avail. After fighting with it for a couple of hours, I decided to let it run down its battery and reboot itself to death.

I’ve had that iPod for about two-and-a-half years; it was an Xmas gift from an Xgirlfriend. It was the smallest-capacity (read: cheapest) iPod available at that time, but it was my first. Since then, I’ve been looking for an excuse to drop $300 on a new iPod, but I never really had a valid one (not enough gigs, haven’t talked to her in years, etc.), until now.

The only thing that I don’t like about my new 30-gig iPod is that it uses USB instead of Firewire. Unfortunately, my old-ass iLamp only supports USB 1.1, so transferring the 2298 songs (10.12GB) in my iTunes library is taking / will take 4-5 hours.

Posted in Mac