Convention, Schmonvention

More times than not, I’m the asshole who thinks that my personal, political opinion matters… or at least matters to those of you who read my site; so I post entry after entry here on MMH because I’m pissed off for one reason or another. More times than not, I’m taking a dig at the current Administration because I think they’re all a bunch of selfish assholes.

I remember having a conversation with Gregg back in the day, when China had to lay the smack down on N. Korea because they were being puffy-chested (nuclear arms program, amassing troops at the 38th parallel, whatever)… amid the “Mission Accomplished” bullshit surrounding the ongoing, unnecessary war in Iraq. See? There I go again.

I asked him why China would diss N. Korea like that… that country being one of their few remaining communist allies. He told me that China doesn’t think about right now… China thinks about 100 years from now. I’m not saying that Gregg is an expert on China, but his point made a lot of sense given the circumstances.

The Democratic National Convention (DNC) that’s in full swing in Boston right now means nothing.

Why is that?

Because The Administration (namely, puppetboy) has already polarized the population: “You’re either with us or against us.” Americans weren’t forced to choose which side they were on when the (w) made that statement (by and large, we were all on his side in the aftermath of 9/11), but we’ve all been forced to choose a side in the almost-three-years since then.

I am staunchly opposed to the election of GWB/WMD in November. But the DNC is a formality approaching masturbation. People who aren’t there to dissect and leverage the gaffes of the various speakers… have already decided that they’re going to vote for Kerry/Edwards. So what’s the fucking point? Preach to the choir, idiots.

In my opinion, we should be more concerned about where The United States of America is going to be 100 years from now. It shouldn’t have anything to do with bloating your grandchildrens’ trust funds due to lucrative DoD contracts. And the “anyone but Bush” push shouldn’t be about overthrowing a puppet regime.

Allow me to reiterate: We should be more concerned about where The United States of America is going to be 100 years from now. Anything else would be uncivilized.

