36 Killswitches, Bitchez

A couple of weeks ago [July 6], I noted that Killswitch Engage and 36 Crazyfists were hitting the road this summer. The exciting thing (for me) at that point was that KsE and 36CF are going to tour together for a while. How could they avoid hitting up the 9:30 in DC? Well, apparently, they figured out a way.

A couple of weeks ago [July 6], I noted that Killswitch Engage and 36 Crazyfists were hitting the road this summer. The exciting thing (for me) at that point was that KsE and 36CF are going to tour together for a while. How could they avoid hitting up the 9:30 in DC? Well, apparently, they figured out a way.

7/31/2004 @ Club 9:30: Kittie headline; Candiria; 36 Crazyfists; Twelve Tribes; Thine Eyes Bleed open; $15. This is a Saturday night show, and imminently do-able… except there’s a party in remembrance of Andy Bolton [rest in peace, bro] 4-8pm. 8 o’clock doors… still do-able. Then, The Karen is having a thing at her place on the lake “any time after 8-ish” that I’d like to attend. It’s becoming much less do-able, considering that I saw Kittie at the 9:30 over a year ago and can’t remember if we went because there was a passable opening band I wanted to see… or if we went because Shawn had a boner for the deathmetal Kittie chicks. Either way, I can’t rightly remember, so it must not have been an extraordinary show. Given that I’ve never ever heard of Candiria, Twelve Tribes or Thine Eyes Bleed (fags for sure), it looks like a no-go.

8/19/2004 @ Alley Katz: Killswitch Engage headline; From Autumn to Ashes; 18 Visions; 36 Crazyfists open; $14. This is a Thursday night show, um, in Richmond. Logistics: 1/2 or whole day off on Thursday to drive down and make 6pm doors, hotel reservation required, 1/2 or whole day off on Friday to drive back and/or recover from festivities. $14 to see both KsE and 36CF, a bargain at any price to be sure. I definitely wouldn’t go alone because that’s no fun. Let’s review the list of possible partners in crime:

Erin: Not much of a metal fan, more mainstream, radio-friendly music is her first choice. I’m sure she’d go if I asked her, but I’m not sure she’d enjoy the show or atmosphere. Of course, she’s got friends in Richmond, so may try to kill two birds and try to hook up the weekend hang-out.

Gregg: Definitely likes the KsE action, but it’s unlikely that he’ll be able to swing a Thursday night show in Richmond given his insane work schedule.

Doug: Would be totally down for this show if his work schedule wasn’t completely whack… and maybe if the show was in Norfolk (or any other place closer to Ocean City, MD).

Shawn & Nick: Crazy work schedules may preclude attendance.

I guess the Richmond show’s still kind of up-in-the-air for now. Alley Katz only has a 500-person capacity, so I predict this show will sell out… so I’d better weigh my options and make a decision pretty damned quickly.

One thought on “36 Killswitches, Bitchez

  1. You need a possible partners in crime, you say? If I may make a suggestion, I have it on good authority that you have an ex-roommate that could probably be talked into hitting that Richmond show up with you. Usually my schedule’s too crazy for last-minute notice but this far in advance I can make arrangements. I’d see about the 31st instead, but that’s the woman’s birthday and I’ve kinda got a commitment that night… anyway I haven’t seen you for any amount of time since that show at Jaxx, so it’d be cool to hang out again. Plus since I’m a night person now and don’t really drink much anymore, I might even be able to get us back home after the show without a hotel stay being necessary… lemme know, Joe.

    (As in, G.I… ahh nevermind)

Comments are closed.