Playing Catch-Up

Thursday: Drove to Norfolk to meet up with Doug for the Slipknot, Fear Factory, Chimaira show at The Norva. Drive sucked due to traffic. Opening band, Epoxy, and Chimaira both had good sound levels, and Chimaira’s set was awesome. Fear Factory and Slipknot, however, had the shittiest audio. Fear Factory sounded like they were playing underwater, and too much treble in the Slipknot mix made everything sound like white-noise trash (which some would argue it sounds like anyway). Doug and I left before Slipknot was finished. High point: Not having to wait 40 minutes in an around-the-corner line with people who already had their tickets. Being cheap and going will-call has its benefits sometimes. Weirdest point: Running in to Kara M. at the show. She’s the mother of my first godchild, Demitri, and soon-to-be ex-wife (or so she told me) of a good friend I haven’t spoken to in almost a year. I was the best man at their wedding. It was surreal seeing her there at the show, considering I hadn’t seen her (or D) since they moved to NC over a year ago. Lightning won the first game of the playoffs, although I hear they didn’t deserve to.

Friday: Drove back from Norfolk. Drive sucked due to traffic, but new Clutch mitigated the pain somewhat, and it was a beautiful day to be stopped on 95 for no apparent reason. I’m a dickhead and waited too long to buy tickets to the same concert in DC on Friday, as originally planned; it was sold out, just as in Norfolk. Picked up Erin from the airport coming back from Spain, then headed up to Rockville, MD to hang w/ long-time friends, Keely & Val. It’d been a while since I saw them, and so much has happened since then for all of us, so there was plenty to talk about.

Today: The Lightning are playing for shit against the Islanders (3rd period just started). After the game, heading up to MD again to go out. Tomorrow, I’ll officially be sick of driving.

