Every Day I Do

Before the deep shit, Avenged Sevenfold has landed a spot in heavy rotation, thanks to Doug’s help. He called it, “an acquired taste”, with which I agree. But now that I’ve acquired the taste, that’s a tasty meatball.

Back in January (on my ex-gf’s birthday, ironically) I suggested that people who don’t suck download the MP3 song “The Heart and the Shape” by 36 Crazyfists. The album, “A Snow Capped Romance” came out last Tuesday, and I finally bought it today.

Side note: BestBuy sucks, and Tower Records sucks… at least Tower had the motherfucker on the rack.

Since I downloaded “The Heart and the Shape”, every day that I’ve been in front of one of my Macs–here at home or at work–I’ll spin up iTunes, and it’s the first song to wake me. If the CD’s title isn’t enough: “A Snow Capped Romance”, tonight I finally got the opportunity to read the lyrics of the one song that rises to greet me almost daily. Poignantly:

And, so I grey the heart and the shape.
That look that you gave, staring.
At empty, help me back to awake.

I know it’s completely ghey to attempt to apply some random songwriter’s lyrics to your own life. It almost qualifies as fucking pathetic, really.

But, I’ve got to stop greying and help myself back to awake.

4 thoughts on “Every Day I Do

  1. Thanks for driving 36 Crazyfists into my ear the other weekend. I’m completely hooked. Both albums are on heavy rotation where ever I’m at.

    Favorite lyrics for me would have to be “Get the fuck out, stay the fuck out, It makes me sick, I’m alright)” from Slit Wrist Theory…

    Best song for me off SCR, would be Bloodwork… I can’t listen to that song enough.

    Glad you finaly got hooked on Avenged Sevenfold. Best songs on that cd would be Radiant Eclipse, and Second Heartbeat (although that whole album jams except for track 1).

  2. I’m not sure whether to thank you guys or not. I have spent the last hour listening to 36 Crazyfists….and I am really likin’ it! I’m trying Avenged Sevenfold on for size next, I’ll let you know how it goes.

  3. Don’t try and fool me! I saw an Afternoon Special on this! You guys are just trying to pressure me into doing something that I’m not comfortable with.* And my gut is telling me that it’s not a good idea, and I will not let my peers drown out the voices of my own personal judgment, because only I know what’s best for me, not you guys. I will not succumb to peer pressure!

    Now…pass me a beer and bum me a cigarette, please.

    *The author acknowledges that this comment is rife with grammatical errors.

  4. Ok, Karen you caught me. I just wanna be one of the cool kids. But seriously, its good stuff, wanna try it?

Comments are closed.