Music News Wrap-Up

I’ve linked to them before, but definitely check out Baltimore’s own The Mayan Factor. Their song, “Warflower” just keeps getting better every time I listen to it. I think a CD purchase is imminent. If you don’t want to deal with their strange, flash-ified website, download a couple of MP3s from their nook at GarageBand.com.

Washington-area favorites, Emmet Swimming, have begun to register a blip on the radar again. They recently released a new EP titled “Bathing In The New Economy”, which even features super-talented former drummer Tamer Eid on a couple of songs. Sound samples available via Awarestore. In other ES news, they’ll be playing the venerable 930 club on January 9, 2004… which just so happens to be [girlfriend’s name]’s birthday. Hrm… if I take [gf’s name] to the show as a “present”… and I’m really the one that wants to see them… does that make me the equivalent of Homer Simpson when he gave Marge a bowling ball as a gift with his name engraved in it?

After allowing the liver to recover from New Year’s Eve festivities, I’m thinking of heading down to that wonderful venue in Norfolk, The Norva. Ill Niño is going to be there again, although Sevendust (no opinion yet) headline. Rumor has it (and, it’s just a rumor, mind you) that 40 Below Summer will also play the show. Corroborating evidence is nowhere to be found on the ‘net, so I’m apprehensive to lend that little nugget of gossip any credence. Coincidentally (and unfortunately), 40BS is playing the Recher Theater in Towson, MD tomorrow night when I’ll be in Philadelphia for [gf’s name]’s workplace Xmas party. Then, Sunday night, they’ll play in Philadelphia… when I’ll be back here in Virginia.

The metal gods above are toying with my emotions. Those bastards.

Speaking of the Recher Theater and metal gods (weren’t we?), rock powerhouses Clutch are scheduled to return to the Recher on December 30, 2003. Consider this is the official call for attendees. Email me if you wanna’ split a room w/in walking distance. Doug and I saw them at the Recher in May and, as it seems always happens with Clutch, it was an amazing show. Hit me back soon.

Finally, in sad news, Washington Area Music Association Hall of Famer, Bill Kirchen, is planning to move from Northern VA out to California in the next month or so. While he promises to return to The Grille for more Grille-billy Thursdays, time is growing short before the final Too Much Fun show on January 22nd, 2004. Consider this the official call for interested parties. Email me with your Thursday of choice (schedule), and we’ll see if we can get something put together.

2 thoughts on “Music News Wrap-Up

  1. Gary said: “Hrm… if I take [gf’s name] to the show as a “present”… and I’m really the one that wants to see them… does that make me the equivalent of Homer Simpson when he gave Marge a bowling ball as a gift with his name engraved in it?”

    Uh, YEAH! The fact that you’re asking that tells me that you really know that indeed you would be Homer if you did that! Get her something SHE wants; it’s not all about you after all!

    Catherine :-)

  2. No Gary… you’d be Homer Simpson if you bought [girl friend’s name] a Carnival Kitchen for her birthday, and used such present to make the biggest cotton candy ball covered in caramel and chocolate anyone has ever seen. Then slept with the sugar induced idol and spoke with it over anything [girlfriend’s name] had to say. Finally after spending weeks with the cotton candy ball, you had to give it up due to insanity from sugar intake, and insect infestation… only then would you listen to [girlfriends name]’s thoughts and reason.

    That would be pulling a Homer my friend.

Comments are closed.