Popular Text

The most over-used word and phrase of July are: vet and completely accurate statement. Let’s review.

Vet is a verb meaning “examine”. It’s also the guy/gal you take your pooch to see when they’re barfing too much, but that’s a noun. The verb (with its awkward simple past tense variant vetted) has recently appeared in a number of Salon and CNN articles describing intelligence reports, employment records… what have you. Stop it, already. Sure, it has fewer syllables, but people (like me) have to look it up. Is your job to write informative articles, or to make people (like me) feel like idiots because you have a thesaurus within reach?

A completely accurate statement, however, is a different animal that has nothing to do with truth. You’ve heard all of those ‘publicans desperately grasping the rails of the Titanic administration defend our President by employing this phrase. Quick aside: It’s not his fault; I don’t blame GWB; he’s just a sad little pawn (but, like a pawn, can possess great power). Let me break it down for you.

“My car bumper is white”, is a completely accurate statement. Until you realize that my car bumper is white only where the FedEx guy backed into it. To say, “My car is black, with a large, white smudge on the bumper”, is to tell the truth.

Spin it the way you want. Make sure you’re wearing an orange vest.

